Election 2024:
Be informed, not misled

About

Learn and teach news literacy

The 2024 election season will be among the most closely followed in American history, and as in past years, it also will attract a flood of mis- and disinformation. A new development this year is the rise of artificial intelligence technologies, which can create sophisticated fabrications and distortions that challenge our ability to identify what’s real and what’s not like never before.

The News Literacy Project is working to ensure that you know how to discern fact from fiction and can make well-informed voting decisions when you go to the polls.

We aim to accomplish that through our election misinformation awareness campaign, which will help you learn how to spot false information and hone your skills for identifying and seeking out credible sources and fact-based information.

Events

Attend a free event

FEB 22

4PM PT / 7PM ET

Be informed in 2024

Virtual panel discussion

FEB 29

10-11AM PT / 1-2PM ET

Are you informed or influenced?

Webinar

MAR 20

4-5PM PT / 7-8PM ET

Is it misinformation?

Webinar

Event Series: Boost your news IQ

Ongoing webinars that teach practical skills for navigating the news. Tune in to the livestreams or view the recordings.

Our Resources

Learn news literacy

Browse our 2024 Presidential Election Misinformation Flipboard page for recent articles about misinformation related to the elections.

Test your news literacy with our short quiz

Check out and share our infographics on social media:

Teach news literacy:

Explore our Voting and Elections collection on Flip for classroom discussion and lesson plan ideas related to election misinformation in the news, breaking out of political “bubbles,” spotting impostor accounts and fake posts, and more.

Stay in the loop

Get the latest election-related developments, teaching resources and insight into trending news literacy topics.

Subscribe to our newsletters

Protect yourself from misinformation with RumorGuard™

Videos

ENGLISH

Watch and share our YouTube videos offering tips on how to avoid election misinformation.

ESPAÑOL

Mire y comparta los anuncios de servicio público en nuestra lista videos en YouTube.

Other resources

Trusted information on how and where to vote

Candidates and issues

  • Ballotpedia: A digital encyclopedia of American politics and a nonpartisan source of information on elections, politics and policy.

Thank you

We wish to thank the following supporters:

FOR EDUCATORS

Checkology® can help your students tell the difference between fact and fiction.

What is Checkology?

FOR EVERYONE

Test your news literacy know-how with our app!

FOR EVERYONE

Check out our podcast Is that a fact?

FOR EVERYONE

Checkology® can help you tell the difference between fact and fiction.

What is Checkology?